Friday, 9 September 2016

Tall Oaks - promo


‘A gripping debut about a secret ridden American town that is propelled into the national spotlight when a three year old goes missing.’ The Mail on Sunday
‘A perpetually fascinating read’ 4* Heat magazine
‘I always know when a book has completely blown me away - as a reader, I want to weep because I've finished it and I will never again get to experience it for the first time, and as a writer, it makes me want to weep because I wish I had written it myself. THIS IS ONE OF THOSE BOOKS.’ 
Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

Small town. Big secrets.

Chris Whitaker
Published by Twenty7
Paperback Original, 8th September 2016, £7.99
eBook, 7th April, £4.99
For fans of Twin Peaks, FARGO, and The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, this brilliant debut is dark, gripping, hilarious and ultimately heart-breaking.
Welcome to Tall Oaks, California, where everyone has a secret…
When three-year-old Harry goes missing, the whole of America turns its attention to one small town.
Everyone is eager to help. Everyone is a suspect.
As the media furore begins to die down it is left to troubled police chief, Jim, to try and find the boy. He is helped by Harry’s distraught mother, Jess, whose grief is driving her to extreme measures.
Seventeen year old wannabe gangster, Manny, stands on the awkward cusp between boy and man. A time made harder by his mother dating newcomer Jared, a car salesman with a secret. 
Man-mountain Jerry is obsessed with winning the National Amateur Photography, if only his controlling mother would let him enter his photograph.
In Chris Whitaker's extraordinary, all consuming and original debut novel, missing persons, secret identities and dangerous lies abound in a town as idiosyncratic as its inhabitants.
For more information and review copies please contact Emily Burns, Head of PR at Twenty7 | 07540763179
About the author
Chris Whitaker was born in London and spent ten years working as a financial trader in the city.
With a refreshingly cavalier attitude toward his family’s financial security, he decided to quit his job in order to write Tall Oaks.

 @WhittyAuthor ​
‘Tall Oaks is one of the best books I've read this year and this is a Grand Reserve year. It sucked me in and the mystery element of it is delicious, but the real thrill in this book is the humour in the excellent writing. There are characters in here that deserve their own books, they're that good. Hope for lots more from this author - he's destined for big things.’ 
Jo Spain, bestselling author of With Our Blessing
‘Chris Whitaker builds an entire town in the reader’s head and masterfully inhabits it with comic, poignant, gripping life. Tall Oaks becomes a part of you.’ David Whitehouse, author of Bed and Mobile Library

No comments:

Post a Comment